Tayne’s Dark Angels Part Two: The List

6 Jul

 

In two months my local league has a tournament planned. A single day, three battle escalation affair where the army starts at 750 points and expands by 500 points for each subsequent battle. This strikes me as a perfect goal to plot my initial army for, so I did. Here’s how it turned out:

At 750 we start with:

HQ:

Belial, Lightning Claws

Troops:

DW, Standard, Apothecary, Chainfist, Cyclone Missile with TH/SS

DW, Chainfist, Assault Cannon, TH/SS

Fast Attack:

Typhoon Speeder

Small, elite core. Two Heavy 2 missile launchers plus the assault cannon should give me a solid, versatile shooting core (I hope), while the TH/SS, Chainfists and Belial will scare both vehicles and infantry in close combat .

At 1250 we have (new units in blue):

HQ:

Belial, Lightning Claws

Sammael on Speeder

Troops:

DW, Standard, Apothecary, Chainfist, Cyclone Missile with TH/SS

DW, Chainfist, Assault Cannon, TH/SS

Ravenwing Attack Squadron, 3 extra bikes, 2x Meltagun, Attack Bike with Multimelta, meltabombs

Fast Attack:

Typhoon Speeder

No huge additions, this will remain an elite army. The Deathwing army becomes a ravenwing force. My antitank power is boosted, especially by the attack bike (scoring attack bike!) with multimelta. The six man Ravenwing squadron can be combat squaded as needed, have a mobility that the army currently lacks and can turboboost, making them last turn objective grabbers. The three extra bikes cannot form their own squadron within the points limits, but I can combat squad them if needed for a battle leaving me with just the special weapons missing. Sammael provides greater firepower with mobility at the risk of being part of little armour on the table. The meltabombs are simply because of 5 remaining points to spend.

For the 1750 I have 15 points left to spend, again new units are in green:

HQ:

Belial, Lightning Claws

Sammael on Speeder

Troops:

DW, Standard, Apothecary, Chainfist, Cyclone Missile with TH/SS

DW, Chainfist, Assault Cannon, TH/SS

Ravenwing Attack Squadron, 3 extra bikes, 2x Meltagun, Attack Bike with Multimelta, meltabombs

Fast Attack:

Typhoon Speeder

Heavy Support:

Landraider, Extra Armour

Vindicator

Predator, Heavy Bolter sponsons

Still not persuaded by the predator here. I think I have enough anti infantry between the assault cannons, RW bikes and Demolisher cannon’s pie plate. Without it though, I have 110 points for another unit and little inspiration to spend that on. With it, I have 15 errant points. I can buy extra armour for it or the Vindicator (which I know will come under heavy firepower from turn 1 regardless), or scatter stormbolters onto the vehicles. Neither option astounds me however.

Next stage, playtesting this badboy.

2 Responses to “Tayne’s Dark Angels Part Two: The List”

  1. Elostirion41 July 20, 2011 at 07:12 #

    Looking forward to hearing how this tests out.

  2. Angel Kegerries August 21, 2012 at 13:40 #

    I was very pleased to chance this web-site. I wished to thank you for your time for this wondrous read!! I decidedly enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to see new stuff your blog site.

Leave a Reply

