Episode 14 – The Brighton Warlords Tournament

1 Aug

Click to Listen (opens new window)

Episode 14 Download

Read on for show notes:

  • Dave introuduces the podcast and announces the new 40KUK T-shirts that are available as a thank you to anyone that donates £20 or more to support the show.
  • Operation Codex – The gang discuss the Grey Knight Assassins – 04:56
  • The Tournament Report – Sharan ‘The Conservative’ Reddy discusses the Brighton Warlords Tournament – 40:25
  • The Big Fight – Ghazgull faces off against his old adversary Belial in the final round of the quarter finals – 02:00:52
  • The Q&A Team – Sharan ‘The Conservative’ Reddy introduces our brand new segment where Dave and he answer listeners’ questions – 02:13:08
  • BOTCH Interview – Dave interviews Neil Kerr in a post BOTCH Tournament rundown and to take a look at the top 15 armies that placed there – 02:50:44
Advertisements

15 Responses to “Episode 14 – The Brighton Warlords Tournament”

  1. Neil Gilstrap August 3, 2011 at 13:40 #

    Hey guys. Wanted to weigh in on a couple rules discussions. You got me thinking about some stuff.

    The first was if an IC that has joined Snikrot can leave the squad when they arrive from reserve. I may just be thinking INAT, but didn’t this get covered in the main rule book FAQ or something about ICs entering play from reserve with squads?

    Anyways, if not, I’m thinking it’s actually not possible to leave the squad. I think the reason why is because of the way the movement phase works. You have to nominate a unit, move it, then, nominate the next and so forth. While moving one unit, it must maintain coherency. And lastly, if you move a unit that an IC is a part of, the IC is considered moved as well. The only way for an IC to leave a unit that arrives from reserves like that would be to move the unit a little, stop, move the IC, then go back to moving the unit, which is illegal. You could try to say you are moving the unit and leave the IC more than two inches away, but then you are violating the rules about having to maintain coherency while the unit moves as well as rules about the IC moving with the unit. The reason for that to me is that the IC had to be moving with the unit in the first place to come on the board. A proof by contradiction in this case would be that if it were possible for the IC to do this, hypothetically then, the IC could enter on an entirely separate board edge from Snikrot.

    That’s what I’m thinking anyways. i don’t know the actual answer. i think it would be hilarious to have 2 warboss/bikes leave Snikrots unit coming in or Ghazzie/Wazdakka

    The second one was on the Mindstrike Missiles causing multiple perils on a psyker hit if he had all 4 fired into the unit. I thought this was an interesting one as well. I had some differing thoughts on it though and wanted to see what you guys thought here.

    The reasoning I had was that it says “hit” not “wounded”. You don’t allocate hits. You allocate wounds. So, in the case of the missile, I figured if the guy gets tagged 4 times, he takes 4 perils. You can’t allocate away “hits”.

    • Gary Percival August 4, 2011 at 08:58 #

      must admit neil this is how im working these two issues too, the ic from reserve matter is what scuppered my dark eldar army plan for massed whyches in webways- hemonculous not being able to leave and let them fleet and charge really hurt it. and as for the mindstrike missiles; thats how i read it as well.

      • 40KUK August 4, 2011 at 10:58 #

        Yeah, done a bit of checking and you are all right… may I prostrate myself before you all and beg your forgiveness. I’ll also do a little recap on next week’s show to make sure there aren’t some listeners with Ghazzie munchin through people’s lines while Snikrot hits the other part turn 2.

  2. BadBoy August 4, 2011 at 02:57 #

    Great one as usual boys! I am not sure that the guy who cheated at the tournament with the Assassins shoul have got off so lenient, you guys tried to be nice but we all know what was going on there.

    • 40KUK August 4, 2011 at 11:01 #

      Glad your liking the show mate!

      Dude, just to say we weren’t for a second saying that anyone was cheating at the tournament, merely wanted to highlight how important it is to know your codex inside out because that kind of ruling can go against you if you have been playing the wrong way from the start.

  3. Charlie St. Clair August 4, 2011 at 03:55 #

    Page 7 of the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook FAQ:

    Q: If an Independent Character is joined to a unit that
    is outflanking, when can he leave the unit? (p94)
    A: If an independent character is arriving from reserve
    together with a unit, whether it is outflanking or not,
    he cannot leave the unit during the turn it arrives. He
    can, of course, leave it as normal from the following
    turn.

    One of the first time’s I’ve yelled at inanimate objects while listening to the podcast, I’ll forgive you this once though ;)!

    • 40KUK August 9, 2011 at 11:06 #

      Thank you sir, in my defense I got overexcited at the potential possibilities if an IC (Ghazzie) had been able to do it.

  4. Dan Sackett August 4, 2011 at 07:24 #

    On the mindstrike missile thing, I would agree with Neil, you only allocate wounds, and because it doesn’t have to wound to cause the perils, any psyker under the template will take a perils even if no wounds are caused. Interestingly, these are then great for killing grey knights, 4 missiles all hit a squad of purifiers = 4 dead purifiers.

    • The Voice August 4, 2011 at 15:33 #

      ooo, now see thats an intersting one. Im not saying your right or indeed wrong; but the brother hood rule muddys the waters somewhat. This along with psykout grenades and celxus assasins in a bit of a muddle:

      If they all count as psykers then they all go last when charged by other grey knights due to psykout, which in turn means they get rodgered by mind strike missiles…BUT means the celxsus assasin get an extra shot per fella!!

      If they are not all psykers and its only the justicar that is assumed to be the psyker as per the brotherhood rule; then only he goes last, gets nuked by mindstrike and the unit only adds one shot for the celexsus.

      Im not sure which id prefer..greater resilientce to other gk armys or a BILLION stregth 5 ap 2 shots from an assasin. Its one or the other methinks.

      • Franco August 5, 2011 at 21:29 #

        The rules at the front of the GK dex say that the unit counts as a single psyker. It also says that when the unit suffers a perils the effect is resolved against the Justicar or Knight, or randomly if they’re dead. So each mindstrike hit on the unit causes 1 perils, which kills one guy basically. They also work against GK vehicles of course, causing a glancing hit for every missile that is on target. Pretty handy against Land Raiders as they’re so large that you have a decent chance to hit with most of them.

        The irony is that mindstrike missiles are at their most powerful against an opposing GK player. Normally they are my GKs solution to my opponents psychic defence (as this is typically situated on a psyker), but against GKs they work great against everything.

      • Neil Gilstrap August 8, 2011 at 13:26 #

        We play this in a similar fashion to what Franco says. The unit itself counts as a single psyker and perils go onto the Justicar. So, if I get hit by 4 mind strikes, the Justicar suffers 4 perils of the warp attacks and melts into slag. Then wounds are allocated. I’m not saying that’s the right answer or not. 🙂

  5. Killswitch August 5, 2011 at 14:21 #

    Hey guys, Alex Harrison here. I had a great game against Kiran in the final round. Was tight throughout and Kiran did the best thing for himself by putting his entire army on his Objective.

    As for the Deathcults, Dave is right in saying that a player should know his army inside out, especially so on Table one. I could say that it was the first time using the unit and I assumed they had grenades, but thats just my word. At the end of the day I was not only pissed off with myself, but shocked for letting it happen. It was effectively cheating and I apologised to the TO and Kiran afterwards who both seemed fine about it. I can safely say it wont be happening again as it cost me a Tournament win, and I openly admit my mistake.

    I do hope to meet Kiran in another tournament and take my revenge on him however 😉

    I should also address the game I played against John’s Necrons. His dice are loaded, that is all…haha

    On a serious note, I decided to shoot him down from range, which was possible with my army, but alas he made an ungodly amount of saves (the nightbringer took 3 turns of shooting to bring down…yes that was 23 wounds and he failed 5 eventually on the last gun on a 4+). It was unfortunate but none the less a fantastic and tight game. Highlight of the game was me tank shocking two units of Necron warriors in a desperate attempt to gather Killpoints, and making one of the units flee, giving me one of my 4 Killpoints. Score at the end of turn 5 was 5-4 and the game ended 😦

    @ Dave. I recently won a tournament in Portsmouth. Don’t know if its worth discussing that on a future podcast or not. If so, hit me up on my email alexflyf@hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk

    Alex

  6. Digital Unicorn August 5, 2011 at 21:13 #

    Isn’t the wording that the ‘unit’ only counts as one psyker? It doesn’t say only the justicar counts as a psyker, it says all grey knight units are psykers. Ergo, the grenades work because the unit being hit is ‘a’ psyker, the missles cause 4 perils because the unit being hit is ‘a’ psyker. What it does mean however is that the justicar is the first to go as the brotherhood rules state that he suffers the Perils of the warp results on the squad til he dies, so in this case it would be, Justicar first then 3 randoms.

    Also, mindstrike missiles are essentially auto-glancing weapons against Grey Knight vehicles thanks to the psychic pilot rule. Which is intriguing……

  7. Tim smith August 6, 2011 at 15:55 #

    I’m pretty sure your wrong on the mindstrike vs gk veh as it’s Only a psyker for the perposes of psychic checks I.e when casting fortitued.

  8. Digital Unicorn August 9, 2011 at 14:15 #

    I would argue that a perils of the warp is pretty clearly a psychic effect, and regardless, it says specifically in the rules, a perils equals a glance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: