Painting for Dummies by Chaplain Centuris

2 Nov

Many players of the 40k game enjoy all the aspects of the hobby.  Some only like to play. While others like to model and paint.

I have heard many people say “I am not good at painting”.  In my opinion, anyone can paint if you know the tricks.  I am in no way a master painter.  But, I know how to make an army look good.

The top tip I tell everyone when I help with painting, is to dab out some of the color onto an pallet ( I like to use an ceramic tile) and water down the paint just a little. This will keep the paint thin, smooth and won’t take away detail from the model.  Two thin coats are better than one thick coat.  So, be patient.

Keep your brush clean.  I find myself cleaning my brush every couple of minutes.  This keeps the point of the brush  sharp and allows me to be more accurate with the brush.  Also, this extends the life span of the bristles.  DO NOT use your detail brushes to get paint out of the pot or to mix paint.  It only takes a few times of getting paint into base of the brush and the tip gets ruined.  Been there, done that.

Plan out your color scheme.  I like to look on line to see what others have done.  Start with the rank and file first.  This gives you the practice needed to hone your technique before tackling your elites or hq.  I have personally painted the HQ first then lost the drive to even paint one troop squad.  So, now I mix it up.  I Paint a couple of troop squads then, change it up with something different (like a vehicle).  Keep alternating your unit selection until done.

Base coats are the foundation on which makes or breaks the models appearance.  If your primer color matches the base coat then, water down the base coat to the consistency of milk.  Then apply.  If your base coat is darker than the equipment, guns, or markings, use an coat of white on those areas.  This helps keep bright colors from looking drab.

Don’t be afraid to try something new.  I am currently painting an sanguinary guard, Blood Angels, army on commission.  As most of you know, they are almost entirely gold.  I usually use an flesh wash over the gold then, highlight only once.  This time I decided to try Army Painter’s dip.  I primed the models black.  Then did an light dry brush of white.  Next, I painted all of the base coat colors.  Next step is the dip.  Instead of submerging the models in the dip I, used an old tank brush and applied liberal amounts of the dip to the entire model (except the power swords/fists).  Then after an couple of minutes, brushed off the excess.  The result was really impressive.  Next,  I dry brushed any part I based white. I could have added an edge of highlight in some spots but, it really didn’t need it. I highly recommend this technique.  It was fast and easy.

In closing,  don’t get discouraged that your painting abilities aren’t great.  Practice and learning painting tips are the keys to success.  Don’t be afraid to ask someone how they painted something.  We painters love to talk about our armies.

Chaplain Centuris

One Response to “Painting for Dummies by Chaplain Centuris”

  1. Mark Perry November 4, 2011 at 11:38 #

    Devlan Mud FTW!

Leave a Reply

