Killswitch Zone – Adepticon Championships By Alex Harrison

17 Nov

“Adepticon Championships 2012 is held April 19th through the 22nd in what is perhaps the biggest Warhammer scene on the planet, America. With events spanning over 200 players at any given time, the Americans know how to hold events, and Adepticon is from what I hear, the biggest.

This event will see thousands of Hobbyists and gamers come together to compete, paint, and learn in the many seminars and tournaments held over the week, with over 10 game systems in play. I have always wanted to head over and attempt my luck at one of Americas largest events, and wasn’t too sure on which would be a hot choice. I was convinced after seeing the actual scale and effort put into the event and the interesting ways it runs, so I grabbed myself a ticket or 2.

First, everyone has to grab a weekend badge. This nets you a goody bag, which last year had some awesome stuff including new Warmachine models, key chains and lighter pens. You then have a look at the extensive activities available on the Thursday through to the Sunday, from 40k to Malifaux tournaments, and the Crystal Brush award, similar to the UK’s Golden Daemon, but from what I hear has a whopping cash prize to the winner (think in the region of thousands). It’s going to be a great event, and I am fortunate enough to have the available funds (at this point in time) to go. I’ve already grabbed my weekend pass, 40k Tournament championships & the 40k Team tournament tickets.

The 40k Championship sees 256 games pitted against one another on the Friday morning, playing 4 games over the day at 1850pts. The top 16 players from these players (yes 16 out of 256) get to play in the finals on the Sunday, where then you will play against the other top players over 4 games. I think this will be the biggest event I will ever attend to date, and it’s certainly exciting to say the least. I’d love to get a feel for American game play, which I’m sure is a completely different playing field to the UK. After playing the Yanks at the ETC, I’m happy to say that not only are they great players, but great hobbyists. What fantastic armies they had.

The 40k Team Tournament sees teams of 4 play against each other. I’m not sure how this will work this year, but either way I’m sure it will be great. Allen El Sour (a great player who played for the England ETC Team this year with Orks), Stu Robertson (the Welsh Team captain for 40k this year) and myself are currently participating in this event as a team, representing Team England. We are still looking for one player, so let’s hope we can find someone soon.

Travelling to America has its benefits. On top of gaming, we get to enjoy the lovely spring sun, American food & booze, women and massive shopping malls. I’m sure I can handle that for a week. Not sure on the total costs for this “Holiday” but I’m sure it won’t be cheap haha.

So that’s it, Team England heading off to the sunny costs of America to war-game, why not eh? Should be a laugh and I’m thoroughly excited. If anyone else is interested in participating, have a look here:

http://www.adepticon.org/

Please feel free to contact me on alexflyf@hotmail.co.uk if you wish to travel with us and sort out hotel arrangements etc. Bare in mind tickets are now sold out so for those of you who may of grabbed one, please get in touch.

Cheers,
Killswitch”

4 Responses to “Killswitch Zone – Adepticon Championships By Alex Harrison”

  1. Jeff Payne November 18, 2011 at 01:37 #

    I hate to bring this up but last years adepticon was kicked off by a blizzard and high’s in the single digits in Celsius for are friends across the pound. Of course that was the worst winter we’ve had in close a decade and we had roughly 1.5m o snow on the ground in February. We should meet up when you get in.

  2. TerranceLau November 18, 2011 at 15:16 #

    I think coverage on 40KUK has shown how much Geography can play a part in the States let alone the weather. You guys are in for a real adventure – but it sounds awesome.

    • 40KUK November 18, 2011 at 15:22 #

      Yep that is the case. We in the UK may have a little bit of rain etc to deal with, but even at the recent Nova Open there was an arthquake which travelers had to deal with.

      • Jeff Payne November 18, 2011 at 15:36 #

        Don’t think they had an earth quake but I believe they had a hurricane. Why did you want to come to the USA again, all we need is a plaque of locusts and it’s Ben Herr movie.

Leave a Reply

