Tayne’s Musings: Taking Up The Pledge, by Graeme Nicholls

5 Jan

I have a confession to make. Scratch that, I have two. I’m terrible at finishing projects, especially when it comes to painting projects. On the other hand, I’m really very good at sparking my own interest in new projects.

Combine these two, and I’ve ended up without a single properly painted army (hell, I only have one finished unit) and many half done attempts on a few different armies. So, it being the new year and the time of half-meant resolutions, I figured it’s time to take up the pledge many gamers before me have done.

For those of you who don’t know, the pledge is simple: To build, paint and base as many or more models in a year than purchased.

Simple eh? Perfectly so, unless you have the attention span of a goldfish and the eye of a magpie. To help, I have a plan. I know that, eventually, I will cave for the “shiny model syndrome” and pick something up, so I plan to. I hope to attend a few tournaments this year (new job and commitments permitting of course… damn those commitments) and to do that properly, I need to finish an army.

So here’s the plan. First, I’ve made the list. (In truth, I’ve made two variants of one list, a little playtesting will determine the one I eventually use but I digress.) Tau have captured my attention the last few months and I plan on using them for the foreseeable future, so my focus is to finish here.

But I know I’ll find a distraction, that the 24th Kroot mercenary I paint will have my fingers itch to find something else, and for that I have daemons. As I stated a few months ago, I plan on my next army be Chaos Daemons and have even bought the basis of an army already. Daemons are big and gribbly, full of conversion potential and most importantly very, very different to the Tau list I’m preparing.

Anyway, that’s the idea. I don’t really post on forums enough to keep track of the pledge there, so I’ll be keeping my own records and maybe, just maybe, I’ll add little updates at the end of my future posts.

6 Responses to “Tayne’s Musings: Taking Up The Pledge, by Graeme Nicholls”

  1. Andy Ovel January 5, 2012 at 10:28 #

    I’m with you on this one, so I’m going to take that pledge with you Tayne.

    I have a big Ork army with exactly zero models painted for it, and I KEEP buying more for them so Orks will have to be my project for 2012.

    …Plus I’m broke after Xmas 😦 lol

  2. Chris Smith (@BadgerRustler) January 5, 2012 at 10:33 #

    I know the feeling!

    I’m determined to buckle down and get my Crimson Fists done this year (release Pedro Kantor in Finecast dammit!)

    I’ve found viewing everything as a whole helps me – I’ve got all the models made, cleaned up and ready to paint laid out in squads/ formation on a shelf in the hallway. I can then see what needs doing and what’s done which helps to motivate me.

    Sternguard, Dreadnoughts and Tac Marines done, Scouts, Pred, Rhinos and Land Speeder to go!

    • Andy Ovel January 5, 2012 at 13:26 #

      @ Chris: What would be your full army list mate? I have Pedro Kantor myself, and keep thinking about themeing an army list round him, and I would appreciate seeing what you would take. 🙂

      Oh and of course Pedro isn’t painted 🙂

      • Chris Smith (@BadgerRustler) January 9, 2012 at 15:37 #

        Sorry for the late reply, at 1500 points it looks a bit like this:

        HQ: Pedro

        Elite: 10 Sternguard, Powerfist, 3 Combi Meltas and 2 Lascannons. Rhino.

        Ironclad Dread with Dread CCW, Hammer and 2 HK Missiles

        Troops:

        Two Tactical Squads, both with Power Fist, Meltagun, Multi Melta and Rhino

        Fast Attack:

        Land Speeder Typhoon with Heavy Bolter and Missile Launcher

        Heavy Support:

        Predator with Autocannon and Heavy Bolters

        Dev Squad, 5 man with 4 Missile Launchers, Rhino.

        The Sternguard combat squad, Pedro jumps in with the Combi Melta bunch. Generally works pretty well and with that much melta and high attack marines in midfield nobody wants to come near you!

  3. Chris Smith (@BadgerRustler) January 9, 2012 at 15:43 #

    In terms of general tactics you have a reasonable backfield presence with the Dev Squad and the Lascannon Sternguard combat squad (to objective camp).

    The Tac Squads and Sternguard Melta Combat Squad push forward to midfield within Pedro’s +1 attack bubble. Ironclad trundles up behind the Rhinos to act as a counter charge/ combat deterrent.

    Weaknesses: No Psychic Defense is a pain in the arse. At 1750 I’d look to get a Librarian and add another Dakka Pred and another Land Speeder with some point shuffling to allow this.

  4. Andy Ovel January 10, 2012 at 17:57 #

    Thanks Chris, now I have a shopping list 🙂

Leave a Reply

