Episode 44:Some FAQ Talk

20 Feb

Click to Listen (opens new window)

Episode 44 Download

Read on for show notes:

  • Introduction: Dave introduces the show and announces that the Grand Tournament T-shirts are available and that the Grand Tournament events schedule is up… all info can be found on the website and facebook.
  • Operation Codex: The boys discuss the Daemon Fast Attack Choices – 02:30
  • News From Across the Pond; Scotland: Franco ‘The Speedy’ Marrufo reports from Scotland – 58:24.
  • Grand Tournament Update: Leon ‘Boomstick’ Smith announces the Apocolypse game that will taking place and Rob ‘Showbiz’ Madeley talks about the ETC style grudge match that Good, the Bad and the Dudley will be having against Flame On – 01:08:08.
  • The Big Fight: 01:46:06.
  • FAQ Rundown – Gary ‘The Voice’ Percival and Dave look at the recent FAQ rulings – 02:08:02.
Advertisements

11 Responses to “Episode 44:Some FAQ Talk”

  1. DavidW (ChimpPimpin) February 20, 2012 at 10:58 #

    I demand to be credited by name for my “Listarine” smack talk!!!

    • 40KUK February 22, 2012 at 10:55 #

      And there was everyone saying they had made it up… from this day forth sir you will be known as the author.

  2. Digital Unicorn February 20, 2012 at 15:24 #

    An extract from my random 40k Haiku doodles on the Bolthole earlier this week :

    “Net loved Imhotekh,
    Now they all love Anrakyr,
    Oh wait, FAQ………”

  3. Digital Unicorn February 20, 2012 at 16:04 #

    Sorry for the double post but, I was just thinking about the pen/glance = Wound thingy. Isn’t there something along the lines of that for the rules about walkers? Ie; a pen/glance = a wound when it comes to combat res?

  4. Neil "Skcuzzlebumm" Kerr February 20, 2012 at 16:41 #

    Wow! That was some pretty weak smack talk by Rob. The idea that Team Dudley is a juggernaut is laughable to say the least. Juggernaut would mean they are an unstoppable force, but let us consider how spartan their trophy cabinet is compared to Flame On’s….

    … lets face it if this was a genuine threat to Flame On’s rightful position of dominance then I would be there. But as I am not even in the country….. yeah jog on Mr Madely!

    • 40KUK February 22, 2012 at 10:56 #

      Trying to arrange something with Mr Green (the 40k player, not the guy from Resevoir Dogs) to have his rebuttal on next weeks show for Flame On.

  5. olliswe February 20, 2012 at 22:37 #

    With regards to the PBS -FAQ – issue, you missed out on this :
    Q: Can a model use a psychic power that is not a
    Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a transport
    vehicle? (p50)
    A: Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is still
    worked out from the vehicle’s fire points (this will
    count as one model shooting through that fire point if
    the power is used in the Shooting phase).
    If the psychic power does not require line of sight and
    has a range or an area of effect that is normally
    measured from the model using it, these are measured
    from the vehicle’s hull, as explained in the Embarking
    section on page 66.

    Haven’t finished listening to the eposide yet, but just had to point it out…

    • Digital Unicorn February 20, 2012 at 23:01 #

      I believe the difficulty coming from the new FAQ is that they clarified that even further to include everything that’s not mentioned there, abilities that are not auras or shooting attacks but do require LOS. So, Anrakyrs Mind in the Machine and a few of Njals powers. These abilities can no longer be used out of Fire Points.

    • thepuck1 February 21, 2012 at 01:53 #

      I was going to point that out as well. I will continue to use my PSB in Chimeras, and point out on the FAQ that, in fact, YES we can.

      • 40KUK February 22, 2012 at 11:00 #

        I think the difference is between shooting and other types of powers that require los. For instance, Jaws from a Rune Priest is a shooting attack and can therefore use the fire point. Weaken Resolve is not a shooting attack and does require line of sight, but cannot use the fire point as los. The FAQ is stating that fire points do not give los to none shooting attacks. 😦

  6. Gaz1858 February 23, 2012 at 22:53 #

    Hi guys, In relation to the Hive Guard rule where glancing or penetrating a vehicle is exactly like causing a wound, does this mean Grey Knights units given the ability to reroll 1s to wound get to reroll this against trying to pen and glance a vehicle?

    Whats the consensus?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: