Tayne’s Musings: Bemused, Bewildered and Befuddled, by Graeme Nicholls

7 Mar

Now, I try and stay positive about this hobby of ours. It’s something we do for the fun of playing, the enjoyment of painting/whatever part you enjoy, yadda yadda, but there gets to a certain point when you look at something and just think… what? My apparent nemesis, Digital Unicorn, recently pointed out how Marines, the elite of the universe, have somehow forgotten to bring their combat knives.

That’s right. Marines get into a fight and.. throw a single punch each. What badasses.

Anyway, I thought I’d take a moment to share a few of my thoughts that make me stop and go “….eh?” I’m going to just share a few I’ve felt from taking up my latest project, Daemons. Now Daemons are creatures of the warp, they have spent millenia breaking through the barrier to wreck havoc on the various worlds and yet, they still can’t do it right. Marine drop pods have guidance systems, mycetic spores avoid mishaps and yet Daemons can’t even avoid each other. I mean really, and entire army that arrives by deep strike, and they mishap if they hit each other. And on that subject…

Hooray for the valiant vanguard veterans, nobly charging into battle the very moment they hit the ground. Let’s hear it for the Ymrgarl Genestealers (whom I’ve probably misspelt) as they rouse themselves and launch into an assault. Hooray for those Daemons that work with the Chaos Marines, summoned forth, they charge headlong into battle. But bring a Daemon army and… they forget. It’s turn up, get shot at, then attack, right boys? Ok, maybe the slaaneshies like that, but hey…

Finally, what’s with psychic powers and Daemons? Ok, I get that the Blessing of the Blood God and how it works, and that Daemonic gifts just work, they are that able to manipulate the warp powers, but where’s the defence? Tyranids have shadows of the warp to melt psyker-brians. The Eldar and loyalist psykers have developed their own defences to shut down enemy attacks. Daemons, made from warp matter itself, twisting it into bolts of whatever to melt face… just eat these psychic attacks.

What about you guys? What stuff in your codex has you scratching your head in confusion?

4 Responses to “Tayne’s Musings: Bemused, Bewildered and Befuddled, by Graeme Nicholls”

  1. Graeme Nicholls (@TheTayne) March 7, 2012 at 10:13 #

    Ha! Nice picture Dave, that was not my doing.

    I forgot to write about the Pledge, but I’ve done very little. Assembled three Bloodcrushers, five more seekers and The Changeling, but no painting done. Having a nice break after painting 1500 points in three weeks.

    As a side note, the Changeling is my first Finecast model and I had little issues. I do see the staff snapping soon in transport, it’s definitely fragile, and there were a few bubbles but on the whole, I’m happy with it.

    • Arnie1 March 9, 2012 at 01:36 #

      The fluff is a constant infuriating hassle for me to get my head around and the reason I just can’t take certain units.

      • 40KUK March 9, 2012 at 01:39 #

        I suppose the challenge is to separate between the game and fluff. The cavalry special rule is an awesome ability and allows the scarabs to be FAST. The downside being that they then can’t get up them stairs. The infuriation is that makes no sense… so a separation is needed.

  2. PyroTJ March 7, 2012 at 17:20 #

    There are many things that bug me about a variety of armies (Chaos marines and space wolves getting close combat weapons but normal marines not is a prime example…. seriously just pick up a rock or a stick or the knife from that chaos marine you just killed….). The one that really made me do a double take with my necrons the other day was someone putting their units on the second floor of a building and claiming immunity from my scarabs, they are not allowed to climb up levels of a building. These little critters spend most of their time running around in the inner working of enormous tomb worlds to fix things and keep it running, like helpful spider bots, and they can’t climb stairs!?!

Leave a Reply

