World Eaters, by Dan Summers

4 Apr

AOA logo

The Eaters of Worlds – XII Legiones Astartes

Dan Summers, Blackpool, Lancashire

Background

As an avid gamer, painter and all round 40K enthusiast, when Forge World announced their line of Heresy miniatures, I was hooked. Games Day last year was spent power-walking to the Forge World sales stands to pick up a copy of their Betrayal book and most of the day after this was looking through page after page of glorious Heresy goodness.

However, with the price and the time it takes to build a legion army, it’s been slow going so far. Combine this with the fact that since 6th Edition hit, I’ve been searching for an army to focus on and then finally, hearing about Age of Armies put all the pieces of the puzzle into place – I would do a Legion force using Codex: Space Marines which I can also use in Heresy gaming. A two for one deal using some amazing miniatures! I’ve never owned a Space Marine army, I play Eldar, Dark Eldar and Necrons pretty much exclusively so this was also a chance to do the ‘poster boys’ with a twist.

Choosing the Legion

I’ll be honest here – I’ve never been much of a fan of the World Eaters before I read through Betrayal. In fact, after reading the HH novels, I was dead set on doing Lorgar’s Word Bearers. As I read through the background though, I realised that they have a visceral, simple appeal wrapped up in their straight-laced approach to warfare and an almost tragic angle that I found hard to ignore. Angron’s refusal to admit what he was and who he is puts a spin on the traditional Primarch/legion relationship. I was hooked, so the XII it was.

Month 1

Putting aside notions of competitiveness and list building at this early stage, I wanted to get models that truly made me want to paint them to kick it all off. With this in mind I bought a squad of Cataphractii Terminators and a Power Fist set – for a total of £45. I’ve not put any special weapons in just yet just to see how I’m going to deploy them on the field – Terminators provide me with some target threats once the rest of my force starts moving up. I want to eventually move the force to an aggressive, assault heavy army so Drop Pods, Dreadnoughts, a Stormraven (and at least 1 Thunderfire Cannon just to keep Dave Symcox happy J) will be on the cards.

1 termie

Painting the Legion

The pre-heresy World Eater colour scheme is nothing short of epic – White armour with Blue and Bronze trim. It presented me with another tick in the box as a white colour scheme is something I’ve always shied away from given the challenges of getting a smooth coat which doesn’t look lumpy.

As a self-professed GW fanboy, I use GW paints almost exclusively. So I started on the Terminators with a Skull White undercoat, then to ensure a smooth white coat I then airbrushed a couple of thin coats of White Scar over the top of the undercoat. To this, I shaded with thinned down Drakenhoff Nightshade painted carefully into the recesses. I then picked out the blue sections of armour with Kantor Blue, before applying a thin coat of Teclis Blue, shaded with Drakenhoff Nightshade and glazed with Guilliman Blue. The red leather straps were painted with Khorne Red, highlighted with Mephiston Red and Evil Sunz Scarlet. Bronze areas were basecoated with Balthasar Gold, washed with Reikland Fleshshade, re-basecoated with Sycorax Bronze and highlighted with a 50/50 mix of Sycorax Bronze and Runefang Steel. The final bit was to weather the armour using Stormvermin Fur – I didn’t think that the warriors of the XII would ensure their armour was kept pristine white! It actually didn’t take that long to get done once I started, which bodes well for the rest of the army!

Bases were some resin city rubble ones I had knocking around which were painted Mechanicus Standard Grey, washed with Nuln Oil and then drybrushed with Dawnstone, with edge highlights picked out in Administratum Grey.

image

Next Month

Next month I think I’m going to go for one of these:

contempt

And maybe get the Troops started with a squad of Tactical Marines. Going to be a good month!

One Response to “World Eaters, by Dan Summers”

  1. Nick April 5, 2013 at 09:48 #

    oooo this is gonna be an expensive one :D, you should get a FW handicap +£20 a month

Leave a Reply

