Flesh Tearers, by Alex Rae

13 Apr

AOA logo

 

Hey, my name’s Alex Rae. I’m 31 from Essex. Started playing 40k when I was like 11/12 after seeing some kid’s White Dwarf magazine in school and loving the models. I’m another one of these 80s kids who got into Games Workshop stuff as a young teen and the love of the 40k universe stayed with me into adulthood. I’ve always had a love for Power Armour. It’s the iconic symbol of 40k. So I’ve always had Power Armoured armies. Started just buying random models I liked the look of, then progressed to a Space Wolf army in 3rd. Then Black Legion. Then 13th Co. Space Wolves from the Eye of Terror crusade codex. I started buying models towards the tail end of RT and the 2nd edition boxed set was my entry into playing the game. I actually went to the first ever 40k tournament at Leicester university waaaay back. Then I took some time out from playing and modelling, but continued to buy WD out of habit and would read the novels from a love of the imagery and 40k background.

When 5th came around I had another look and I liked the idea of the Flesh Tearers chapter as a dark mirror of the Blood Angels. And they were in your face close quarters orientated like all my other forces. I bought a ton of razorbacks and 5 man squads and Predators. Assembled everything. Never painted any of it. Played hardly at all. Kind of drifted off again. But I still kept up with the background and the novels. Would pop into my local store maybe 4 times a year, pick up stuff to build and maybe play a handful of games, but nothing even approaching competent levels of understanding.

When 6th came out I was aware of the ‘tournament’ circuit and the whole competitive side of 40k. Some of the bigger online sites pushed me towards podcasts. Alongside a new friend I made through my work who used to be a serious tournament player called Max we both agreed to get back into 40k and try hit up a few events.

flesh tearer

I wasn’t familiar with the UK tournament scene so my first point of call was Throne Of Skulls in November, or the old Grand Tournament as we knew it. Obviously it has changed drastically but it was a good introduction back to the game playing people in a friendly setting. However the rules of GW events are fully painted armies, so I put together a force in the space of 2 weeks. 4 colours plus bases. It looks passable but I have always wanted an impressive looking force to take to events.

 

The thing is I have always been into the modelling side of the hobby. Always followed it, and loved looking at people who put together really beautifully painted forces. So this rambling intro brings me to my Age Of Armies goal. I don’t want to start a new army. I don’t want to start a new race. I’m still very much learning what I am meant to do with the list I have been using on and off since November.

What Age Of Armies represents to me is an opportunity to put together an army that looks the part. Something that has actually taken more than a week to paint! Something that I can possibly enter in for a best army award. One of the guys I met at that November Throne Of Skulls and had a brief chat with was John Jasinski and his Necron force really stuck in my mind. It looked awesome but it was clearly put together with the view of being used in games. It has been part of the inspiration behind me taking part in this.

 

Meeting John Jasinski at Throne of Skulls and seeing his really nicely painted Necron force clearly made to be used, not displayed, really inspired me. We had a really close game too which encouraged me. So when BJ announced Age of Armies I saw it as motivation to get a ‘proper’ force together.  As a new convert to the 40kuk podcast it was also really cool to meet Franco (who I recognised by voice alone). So overall ToS was a really positive experience for me. Really encouraged me to get involved in the game more.
I’m coming at this from a different angle to others. I want to put together a properly painted army that will be the mirror of the force I already use. But as I have literally JUST got into 6th edition after years out the game, I will still be as green as anyone else to their army.
So more about my force… I’ve always liked up close armies and I had bought a bunch of models when the new Blood Angels were released. A bad habit of mine, I buy everything. It usually stays in boxes/blisters. At most it gets assembled and left on a shelf. I have a serial problem with not finishing projects. Another reason to take part in AoA! Flesh Tearers had this awesome imagery of Space Marines on the edge. So they grabbed my interest. I raided all my White Dwarf issues and Index Astartes books and read up on them. I put together an idea of a vanguard force of Flesh Tearers that would Drop Pod right into the enemy lines and try and end the fight as quickly as possible. That sounded like a great fit with the current fluff of Gabriel Seth’s direction for the dying chapter.
So to construct this list I have used a mixture using Blood Angels and Space Wolves. I like the Grey Hunters as they have great flexibility and operate brilliantly up close. Close Combat Weapons and Bolt Pistols as well as Bolters, Counter Charge… They are perfect for dropping right into the enemy’s face. Superior to Blood Angels Assault Marines and Tactical Marines who are quite limited in their uses.
The Flesh Tearers have a high rate of brothers falling to the Black Rage, so a unit of Death Company is a must. These guys have much improved in 6th with Rage not being a complete dead weight round their neck. I use them as a disruptive force, not a ‘hammer’ unit. They drop into a point on the board I want to erupt into chaos. They may survive the game, they may not. Doesn’t matter either way. They are there to screw with the opponents’ plans.
These are the two fixtures in my list and I will be starting with them. As I only signed up 2 weeks ago I’ve not had enough time to get to work but I have ordered my first models.
So for the first month I have started on 2 units of Grey Hunters. 2 boxes of Tactical Marines are £46 which is a good starting point for any Marine force. I ordered 10 Flesh Tearers shoulder pads for £6. I have an extensive bits box so I will be utilising them for parts to personalise my force.
That brings me to £52 for this month. You will see the finished next month.
My aim for Age Of Armies is to put together a themed force that I can take the time to make look really special. I hope to learn my way around the list as well. If I can pull off a few victories along the way I will be pleased.
Leave a Reply

